I don’t know how the girl with the single-tooth grin got the name Parcheesi but that was indeed the name on my list. “Parcheesi,” I thought, would probably be joining  us along with Monopoly and perhaps Chess-ter. Ha, ha.

Parcheesi had a sense of self. She walked slowly toward the kindergarten as if she need not hurry; she expected everyone to wait. I narrowed my eyes in an attempt to get her to step lively, but she continued to dawdle, fussing with the strap of her pocketbook. She looked lazily toward the other children heading toward other rooms and said her good-byes. Parcheesi was like a little politician who wanted to spread a little love to everyone so as to be remembered at election time.

I knew the confrontation was coming. Parcheesi rankled the nerves of my assistant, Velma Dean, a hard-working woman from the midwest who could not abide naughty children. She was well aware that the kids were the kings and people like us, the staff could easily lose our jobs by disciplining our charges in an unwise manner.

Velma had little education in accredited schools or universities, but a lot of learning at the school of hard knocks.

Yet, Parcheesi liked to stir things up, particularly with Craig, a manipulator and sociopath for sure, and Eldon, a sweet, sincere unguarded soul who often left the kindergarten in tears.

